Universities in Nepal

The history of higher education started in Nepal by the establishment of the first college i.e. Tri-Chandra College in 1918. Tribhuvan University came into function in 1959 and it was the only university in Nepal until 1985. In the early 80s, the Government adopted the concept of a multi-university system and as a result Mahendra Sanskrit University was established in 1986, followed by Kathmandu University in 1990, and Purbanchal and Pokhara Universities in 1995 and 1996 respectively. All these universities were established through the Acts approved by the Parliament and they function as the public institutions.


  1. Tribhuvan University (TU), 1959

  2. Nepal Sanskrit University (NSU), 1986

  3. Kathmandu University (KU), 1991

  4. Purbanchal University (PU), 1994

  5. Pokhara University (PokU), 1997

  6. Lumbini Bouddha University (LBU), 2005

  7. Far-western University (2010)

  8. Mid-western University (2010)

  9. Agriculture and Forestry University (2010)

  10. Nepal Open University (2016)

  11. Rajarshi Janak University (2017)


  1. Tribhuvan University (TU)

Tribhuvan University (TU), established in 1959 (2016 BS) is the largest university of Nepal in terms of programs and courses it offers, number of students and teachers. Its central office is located in Kirtipur, Kathmandu, and it functions all over Nepal through the following five institutes, four faculties, and four research centers:


  1. Institute of Agriculture and Animal Sciences (IAAS)

  2. Institute of Engineering (IoE)

  3. Institute of Forestry (IoF)

  4. Institute of Medicine (IoM)

  5. Institute of Science and Technology (IoST)




  1. Faculty of Education

  2. Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  3. Faculty of Law

  4. Faculty of Management

Research Centers

  1. Centre for Economic Development and Administration (CEDA)

  2. Centre for Nepal and Asian Studies (CNAS)

  3. Research Centre for Applied Science and Technology (RECAST)

  4. Research Centre for Educational Innovation and Development (CERID)


The institutes are technical in nature and offer specialized technical courses whereas the faculties offer courses on liberal education such as, management, humanities, education, engineering, medicine, law, and arts at the Bachelor, Master, M. Phil., and Ph.D. levels.

Among the universities of the country, TU claims more than 87% percent of the total enrolment in higher education. Now, TU has 335,126 students in 1140 Campuses (60 constituent, 1080 affiliated Campuses), with 7,592 teachers.

  1. Nepal Sanskrit University (NSU)

Formerly known as Mahendra Sanskrit University, it was established in 1986 (2043 BS). NSU aims to modernize Sanskrit education in the country. NSU central office is located in Beljhundi, Dang and it has 3,742 students in 18 campuses (14 constituent and 4 affiliated) with 484 teachers and 376 administrative staff in its 8 programs at different levels. NSU offers courses on Uttarmadhyama (Sanskrit), Shastree (Sanskrit), Kabiraj (Intermediate in Ayurved), Bachelor in Ayurved, Aacharya (Sanskrit), Ph. D. (Sanskrit), Language Training, and Yoga Training related to Sanskrit.


  1. Kathmandu University (KU)

Established in 1991, Kathmandu University (KU) is located in Dhulikhel, a tourist destination of Kavre district. Currently, it has 17,942 students and 23 campuses (9 constituent, 14 affiliated), 388 teachers, 82 visiting faculties and 181 administrative and support staff. The university offers 106 programs in in the field of science, engineering, management, fine arts, education and medicines from bachelor’s level to the M.Phil. and Ph.D. level.


  1. Purbanchal University (PU)

Established in 1994, Purbanchal University (PU) is located in Biratnagar, Nepal’s second largest city, in Morang district. PU has 26,128 students, 116 campuses (5 constituent, 111 affiliated), 74 teachers, and 296 administrative and support staffs. PU offers 56 programs with courses on science, law, engineering, management, fine arts and education.


  1. Pokhara University (PokU)

Pokhara University (PokU) was established in 1997 in Pokhara, one of the most popular tourist destinations of the country, of Kaski district. It has 29,419 students, 62 campuses (4 constituent, 58 affiliated), 133 teachers, and 177 administrative and technical staffs. The university offers 41 programs and courses on humanities, management, science and technology, engineering and medicines.


  1. Lumbini Bouddha University (LBU)

Lumbini Bouddha University, established in 2005, is located in Lumbini, the birthplace of Gautam Budhha, of Rupandehi district. The university is established primarily to teach/study the philosophies promulgated by Gataum Bouddha. LBU has 6 campuses (1 constituent, 5 private), 705 students and 23 teaching staff.


  1. Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU)

Agriculture and Forestry University (AFU) was established in Rampur, Chitwan in 2010 and it is the first technical university in the country. This University evolved with a merger of Rampur Campus, Institute of Agriculture and Animal Science (IAAS) and Forestry Campus, Hetauda of the Institute of Forestry of TU. It offers different programs in agriculture and forestry from Bachelor’s to PhD degree. AFU has 1978 students, 8 constituent campuses and 122 teaching staff.


  1. Mid-Western University (MWU)

Mid-Western University (MWU), established in 2010, is located in Brendranagar Municipality, Surkhet, Nepal. MWU has 3224 students, 16 campuses (15 constituent, 1 private) and 128 teachers. It has 6 faculties offering different 50 programs in humanities and social sciences, science and technology, education and management.


  1. Far-Western University (FWU)

Far-Western University was established in 2010 in Bhimdatta Municipality of Kanchanpur district. The university currently offers Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in education, humanities and social sciences, science and technology, engineering and management. Currently, FWU has 3686 students, 15 constituent campuses and 109 teachers.


  1. Nepal Open University (NOU)

Nepal Open University (NOU) was established in 2016 with the aim of expanding the access of higher education to mass people who are deprived of access to conventional higher/tertiary education. Its central office is currently located in Lalitpur district of Kathmandu valley. NoU is running different programs in distance online learning mode with 593 students.


  1. Rajarshi Janak University (RJU)

Rajarshi Janak Univesity (RJU) was founded in 2017 in Janakpur, a city of religious and historical importance in the Central Tarai region of Nepal. It offers Bachelor’s and Master’s level programs in science and technology, humanities and social sciences and management. At present is has only one campus (central) with 81 students.